So, I am going on a bicycle ride.  At least that is how I am going to trick my mind and body into doing this.  It is called the TransAmerica Trail and it is a 4,228 mile ride across the US.  In my case, I am riding it from Astoria, OR to Yorktown, VA.  I leave May 29th 2016 and hope to do it in 9-10 weeks.  The route crosses the Rocky, Ozark and Appalachian mountain ranges.  It crosses the Continental Divide 9 times.  The highest point on the trail is Hoosier Pass 11, 541 ft in Colorado.  If you want to find out more here is the link to Adventure Cycling.  My About page explains why the hell I am doing this.

I would be remiss if I did not thank some people/pet who are making this possible.  First of all my wife Audrey.  For her to have the understanding and support of me to follow a dream of mine is why I love her.  To Luna, our Cattle dog, I will owe her big time when I get back.  Missed walks, missed runs and missed Woobie tossing.  I hope she has it in her heart to forgive me?  I have a fantastic employer Digital Data Technologies, Inc. and thank them for giving me the time to follow a dream, I appreciate it more than you could know.  To my friends, family, and co-workers that have offered support, suggestions and, even doubt.  I thank you for the support and even for the “what the hell are you thinking”.

At this time in two weeks, I should be pedaling east!

 

