I left Dayville, OR around 6:30 this morning.  The plan was for a short day, 62 miles.  I have been going pretty hard the past few days and want to give the quads a reprieve.  They have been good to me, so I must return the favor.  But we are still riding, quads!  You can’t get out of it that easy.  There are three mountian passes in a row; Dixie Pass, Tipton Pass and Sumpter Pass.  It wasn’t feasible to do all three in one day so I decided I would do Dixie Pass, stay in Austin Junction and hit the other two on Sunday and into Baker City.  Baker City is the last city on map set 2!  Some well intended plans do fail.

All four of us from yesterday Jamie, Genevieve, Troy and I all planned on doing the same distance.  Getting up early to avoid the afternoon heat was a must.  They are having hotter than normal tempuratures here as probably most of the country.  Anyway, I met up with Jamie and Genevieve some miles down the road. We pedeled together and stopped for lunch in Prairie City.  I sensed a little dread at the picnic table. The dread was because we knew what was after lunch, Dixie Pass. It was around 1:00, when the heat starts to crank up.  We finished lunch and we charged Dixie Pass!

1600 feet of pure hell.  Slamming your hand in a car door would have been less painful.  It’s not the elevation or grade it is the 85-90 degree heat that makes it crappy.  I am happy to announce our crew of 3 defeated Dixie Pass!  At the bottom, and as a reward, milkshakes and ice cream for all!  Best chocolate shake I have ever had.  We stayed in Austin Junction for the night.  And low and below Troy showed up later that evening to tent with us.  Great job on the solo pass Troy! No videos today just pics.

Day 7 – 61.7 miles
Total 525.6
      

image

image

image

