I wanted to mention before I start my post about communication.  It is limited around here.  I am pretty fortunate to have been able to post pretty regularly.  So I apologize if I have not responded to a post comment or Facebook reply, it is just difficult.  Ok, with administrative stuff out of the way let us dive into Day 12.

I woke up this morning and gave the back tire a squeeze.  I wanted to see if it is still holding air after my flat yesterday.  In reality, I actually hug my tires every morning, it makes them feel special.  Ha!  I thought well, let me squeeze the front one as well.  Soft.  Not cool.  So for breakfast I had oatmeal and rubber tube, yum….  Ok no biggy, fixed the flat, packed up my circus and headed on down the road.  Oh, I also said goodbye to Ron and said maybe I will see him down the road.  He had to meet his friend Marion in Grangeville, ID. I was heading toward Grangeville as well.  Marion had a tough go of it in the heat and was assisted to Grangeville where he recouped.

The climb up White Bird Summit was about 2,600 ft and about 13-14 miles long.  In my opinion more difficult than McKenzie Pass.  Ron begs to differ and how do I know this?  Well, Ron came riding up after me while I was taking a photo.  Ron and I climbed to the top of the summit, took a few pictures (that is his bike in the photo of me) and began our decent.  Looking down from the top of the summit it is amazing how expansive it is out here.  This is just one section, of one State, in the United States.  It boggles the mind.

The tempurature today finally came down from hell’s room tempurature to something more managable.  The high was 68 – 70 degrees, great riding weather.  It started off overcast, which is a first for me since Astoria, but the Sun came out and it was a great day.  The route eventually ran along the Middle Fork Clearwater River and it was just fantastic.  I took a picture of one of these little sky boxes that are used to cross the river, there were quite a few.  So, people park their cars on one side of the river and take the sky box to their property, on the other side of the river.  So cool.  I don’t think they are called sky boxes but its the best I could do, so there.  Lol.  I got to the campsite, Wild Goose, a National Forest campground. I have my tent setup right on the Middle Fork Clearwater River.  This is great!  Ron and Marion came in a bit after me and they are setup next door.  I had to pick-up some extra rations for tomorrow’s ride.  No services at all for 66 miles.  More climbing tomorrow.  I am staying 2 miles west of Lowell, ID.

Day 12 – 70 miles
Total 875.3

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

