I woke up to another frosty, cold morning.  I made the customary mad dash to the bathroom.  On my way out of the bathroom a couple invited me over to stand by their fire and warm up.  I chatted with Jake and Hiba.  They were traveling from Louisiana for a wedding in Montana.  They thought they would make a hiking trip out of it.  we sipped coffee and I told them about my trip so far. They were very happy for me and wished me well. Once I deiced, I got on the road.

Today’s special was Togwotee Pass. A climb of about 2,600 ft to 9,658 ft. The highest elevation I have been at on this trip.  It was long, like 15 – 20 miles but gradual which made for a nice climb.  On the way up was one of those flashing traffic message trailers.  It was blinking, “Possible bears on roadway, stop on pullovers only”.  OK, first of all I was not aware that pullovers were like kryptonite to bears.  Second of all, I am going about 4 miles per hour.  So basically I am almost stopped on the shoulder the whole way up.  I was a bit concerned.  I did not even stop to get something to eat, and I needed energy. I didn’t want Yogi smelling my Peanut M&M’s.  I am writing this post so I am fine.

On the summit I took a traditional Continental Divide picture.  That makes 5 crossings.  I also ran into Eric from Memphis.  Eric is doing the TAT from east to west.  So Eric is the first easterner I have met.  Eric climbed to summit from the other side at about the same time I climbed from the west so we celebrated that accomplishment and went our opposite ways.

On the way down I was visited by my arch enemy, duh! duh! duh! Headwind.  I was supposed to be pushing 25-30 mph on the decent, when I could only do 15 mph or so.  Other than missing Audrey and Luna the wind is the second worst part of the trip.  The wind will demoralize you.  So my miles goal today was not going to be hit.  I was able to put in 80 miles to Crowheart, WY.  You see there is nothing between Dubois and Lander, that is 74 miles.  I was beginning to think that this would be my first night “stealth” camping.  I stopped in Crowheart (Pop. 141) because there is at least a convienient store.  I asked the clerk if there was any place a cross country cyclist could tent camp for the night.  The clerk offered the volunteer fire department across the street.  So here I am behind Crowheart VFD writing my blog post and will eventually be sleeping.  No one is here, not that I am expecting someone to be at the VFD but, the back door is open.  I was able to charge my devices and use the bathroom.  I covered all my tracks. Let’s hope it’s a quiet night for emergency calls, or I am going to get one hell of an alarm. Thanks Crowheart VFD!  You’re the best! In the pic you can see the side of one of the engines in the building, lol. Peace out!

I am staying in Crowheart, WY

Day 20 – 80 miles
Total 1,520.9

No vids just pics today.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

