How about we add another century ride to the list?  103 miles today.  I think to myself how in the heck did that happen?  Just outside of Lander, WY there was a significant pass.  I am not sure of the name but the map had the area being called Beaver Divide.  I was climbing the divide, or whatever it is.  The winds were sustained at 25 mph and gusts to 35 mph.  I checked the forcast and there was a wind advisory. It was a crosswind, right in my ear hole.  I swear I could feel the wind entering my right ear and coming out my right nostral.  Again, second worst part of this trip is the wind.  But I lived to fight another day.

I met two guys going west on the TAT, Don and Dan.  Dan kept riding but Don stopped and we talked.  This is unbelievable.  Don lives near the University of Central Florida.  This is the area where I grew up.  And Dan lives near Oviedo High School, probably either in the same neighborhood or close to the neighborhood my brother and sister-in-law use to live.  We wished each other a safe journey.  I met another rider down the road, Bruce from St Louis, he was heading west as well.  In the picture below Bruce is riding a 3-wheeled recumbent bike.  I was a little jealous.  It looks really comfortable, lol.

On down the road I met John, from Chicago.  You would think I am not riding my bike but just socializing my way down the trail.  John shared a bit of intel.  In Jeffery City, which is where I was heading, there is a baptist church that takes in cyclists.  It has showers, a bathroom, kitchen and seperate rooms where you can sleep.  I thanked John and we parted ways.

I made it to Jeffery City and the baptist church.  Jeffery City is an old uranium mining town that is now mostly abandoned.  On the back door of the church was a sign that welcomed cyclists.  I opened the door and met Nigel from Preston, UK.  Once I got in the door with Bike and Bob and set my things down I met Tom and Jacyara from NY City and Chicago, respectively.  All three were really nice and showed me around to help me get situated.  The 3 were going to the only restaurant in town for dinner and invited me.  I kind of wasn’t sure.  I had just rode 103 miles, I needed a shower and needed some down time.

I took my shower and felt much better so I thought I should go down and be social, its part of the experience, right?  The restaurant/bar, I believe had one employee.  When I got in and sat down the crew said, she is busy so you may have to go behind the bar and get your own beer.  I was like, “what”?  They said that is what the patrons at the bar told them.  So I got up walked behind the bar and got myself a beer, lol.  The crew wanted another round so I just grabbed a beer for each of them.  Odd but hilarious.  The waitress came out of the kitchen and just kind of stared at me.  Didn’t say a word, but I could tell she was not going to stand there for very long.  I quickly said bacon cheeseburger with fries and she walked away.  15 minutes later out came my buger and fries, lol.  So weird.

After our interesting dining experience and talking about the ride we all decided to go back to the church.  We walked out the door and got attacked by mosquitos.  They were covering Nigal’s back and probably mine as well.  I suggested we book it and we all started running for the church.  We quickly brushed each other off before we entered the church.  There is no room for mosquitos in the church.

What a day!

I am staying in the basement of a baptist church in Jeffery, WY

Day 21 – 103 miles
Total 1,623.9 miles

image

image

image

image

image

image

