It was nice having breakfast in a regular kitchen this morning.  Nigal already had a pot of coffee brewing.  We talked over coffee.  He is a retired history teacher. He of course asked me what I did and how I could get that much time off of work. I said I have a great employer. Nigal finished up and wished me well and I wanted to get on the road quick as well.  Beat the wind.  I said goodbye to Tom and Jacyara and left the church.

Guess who was waiting outside?  OMG these things are relentless.  I ran down the sandy road pushing Bike and Bob to get to the highway.  I jumped on my bike and took off as fast I could.  Not the way I want to wake up the body in the morning but oh well.  I thought I could out run these little blood suckers.  I pedalled for 16 miles and about 16 mph, it was flat.  I was keeping myself pretty bug free and just said to myself, don’t stop.  Then the hills came, dang!  When I slowed to start the climb the bugs started biting.  I did this for about 3 hills and had enough.  I stopped and as quickly as possible broke open Bob’s bag and pulled out my WMD’s.  I sprayed everything with OFF.  It was a deet carpet bombing.  I even sprayed my bike.  I was not messing around.

After my deet bath I got back to riding and, oh, what do you know?  The mosquitos came close but backed off.  Nice.  The wind picked up early 8:00 AM.  Eureka!  The wind keeps the mosquitos away.  So its a Catch-22, deal with the bugs or deal with the wind.  I will take a helping of wind please!

I stopped in Muddy Gap, the only place with food for miles to load up on fuel.  I ran into Kent and Mai from San Francisco.  They were waiting outside for the store to open.  We chatted about the ride so far, they are going east as well.  Kent wanted a photo of Bob.  Bob is more popular than me, and I took a photo of Kent and Mai for the blog.

After loading up on food for the journey I headed towards Rawlins, WY.  I had a nice cross/tail wind, its a hybrid.  I crossed the Continential Divide two more times.  I think that makes 6 & 7 of 9 crossings?  I was pushing for another big day but between the bugs, wind and a horrible shoulder for about 10 miles I was done.  I am taking a mental health afternoon.

I am staying in Rawlins, WY.  Oh!  I finished map set 5, 7 more to go!

Day 22 – 68 miles
Total 1,691.9

image

image

image

image

image

image

