So yet another first today.  I get to ride my bike on the interstate.  It is only 18 miles but hey it’s something different.  I have been riding on roads with two lanes, no paved shoulder and with a 70 mph speed limit for hundreds of miles.  Now I have my own lane. It was actually nice, flat.  Also, if I just stayed on I-80 to PA it would be a lot more direct, lol.

With my last day in Wyoming coming to a close I actually had no wind!  Again the mosquitos came out but I just carpet bombed them again.  I am due for a new can of OFF.  Outside of Riverside,WY I started to notice smoke in the air.  After speaking with the local general store clerk, he confirmed that there was a 300 acre fire to the south.  With the low winds I hope the fire fighters can put it out.  I have a picture of the smoke under the Big Creek Ranch sign and what I think is a pretty sweet pic of the sky, clouds, sun and smoke all mixed into one.

I felt a sense of excitement toward the late afternoon.  Off in the distance I could see the sign, “two hot dogs for two dollars at Kum and Go”.  No! Not that sign!  I saw the Welcome to Colorado sign.  That is four States down folks.  Their dropping like mosquitos.  I included a couple of pics of the Rockies off in the distance. As I passed into Colorado, I started to think about how long ago Astoria seemed to be.  It literally feels like months ago.  It seems like the trip is going fast.  I want to see as much as I can, but I also want to be home again.

I limped into Walden, CO.  I was dog tired.  I had a decent climb today and below you will see my mileage for the day.  There was free camping in the park and supposedly pay showers at the pool.  I was unable to find the pool.  No worries the sprinkler system in the park came on at night and washed off Me, Bike and Bob.  Free shower!

I am staying in Walden, CO tonight.

Day 23 – 107 miles
Total 1,798.9

No videos again, sorry.  I am getting lazy on the GoPro video.

image

image

image

image

image

