Ok I had to say it, “Hoosier Daddy” today was Hoosier Pass. This is the highest elevation on the TAT (11,542 ft).  I want to say I owned it and I guess I did cause I made the summit, but it kicked my butt.  I had a slight, very slight headache just above 11,000 and breathing was more difficult.  But! I was also pulling 100 lbs, up a decent grade, with a slight headwind, started the climb 50+ miles in and elevation to deal with.  So I am going to say “Hoosier Daddy”. This guy!

Started the day, and not too far out of Kremmling I hit 5 miles of construction.  There was an alternate route and I quote the addenda, “A climb and decent over Ute Pass and 12.6 miles of hard packed dirt”.  Uhmmmm…. No!  I will deal with the orange barrels.  The construction was not too bad but Bob now needs a bath, he is a mess.

The ride was great to Silverthorne.  I took some pictures of a mountain near a lake and Yaks.  I had to verify it with the resident Vet, but yes, that is a Yak.  Ironic as well.  Bob’s model name is Yak.  In Silverthorne I was able to pick up a bike trail that ran to Breckenridge.  So I did not have to ride in traffic for 15 miles.  It was a fantastic, winding trail between pines and mountain views.  Wait till you see the video I posted to Facebook.

I had lunch in Frisco and the weather turned.  Clouds came over the mountains and I began to hear thunder.  Saw one bolt of lightening as well.  I am well aware how bad of an idea it is to be in higher elevations during a thunderstorm, so I headed for cover.  What better place than a hospital, lol.  If anything happens I am already there.  The storm quickly passed and I continued on the trail to Breckenridge.

Breckenridge is where things got real.  The climbing began.  It was not too bad at first, minus the headwind and no shoulder.  I made it to Blue River (10,000 ft) and things started to get tougher.  Then a sign that said 4 miles to Hoosier Pass.  Oh, 4 miles, no worries.  Maybe they should have said 4 miles with a dusting of switchbacks.  My quads are going to have nightmares tonight.  Everytime I thought I had finished the last switchback I see the next one.  Uhhhh!  Ultimately I made it to the top!  You probably are also happy that this is the last crossing of the Continential Divide.  No more Don saying, “I crossed the Continential Divide today, twice”.  You will miss it.

What goes up must come down, and so did I, quickly.  I dropped into Fairplay, CO.  I called the RV park that supposedly offered tent camping and that is not correct.  Ok, there is tent camping at the local reservoir.  Let me rephrase that.  There would be tent camping if the road was not washed out by the river.  Sometimes you got to bite the bullet and suffer. In a hotel room.  With WiFi. And cable. And a bed.  I bet the suffering is palpable.

I am staying in Fairplay, CO

Day 25 – 80.5 miles
Total 1,956.4 (Ohhh, close)

Hey Don finally posted a video to Facebook
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1212168302129165&id=100000080201650

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

