Yesterday, I mentioned that I was going to take a mulligan for the day.  I guess you can’t count the next day as a mulligan but, today, was definitely better than yesterday.  There was the threat of morning storms again so I got up freaking early, again! To my suprise, once the sun started to rise, blue skies and white clouds.  Oh! happy day!  As I left Berea, I had in my mind the many blog posts I read before the trip and the tourers traveling from the east.  Their words were, “if you’re going east the climbing starts after Berea”. There was a 5 mile stretch were I was moving pretty quickly.  Then after Bighill, must have been a warning, a 600 ft climb.  Yes folks, back to talking elevation gain.  We’re not in Kansas anymore.

I was feeling really good this morning and made it up Bighill with ease.  The Sun started to peek out and, as I mentioned, I could see the skies were blue and the clouds were white.  Except for one cloud.  One stinking, grey, cloud in the sky and who is it hovering over?  Yours truely.  I was saying, “You better not”!  It ignored me.  Of course the only rain cloud in the sky opened up.  It was not too bad.  I got a little wet but found a business with an awning and waited it out, it only lasted 10 minutes. I couldn’t believe it though.

After Bighill, it was smooth sailing to Booneville.  I stopped in Booneville for lunch, ate quick, so I could bust out more miles, and got back on the road. After Booneville there were 4 significant climbs.  Steep, winding, roads with just as steep downhills.  I was burning break pads on the way down , to slow Bike and Bob, so we could make the hairpin turns.  In between hill 3 and 4, in the middle of nowhere, there was a oasis.  An ice cream stand!  I don’t think most would consider having a large chocolate shake, in 90 degree heat, before climbing a mountain, towing 100 pounds a good idea.  Ha! I look danger in the face and laugh.  Lol.

At some point today I took a couple videos and a picture.  I have to mention about the first video of the hill climb, I said it was Day 45 and today is Day 46.  I think some of the calorie burn has been from my brain.

I am staying at a hotel in Hazard, KY.  No, it is not the fictional town in the Dukes of Hazard.  That was in Hazard County, not city, and it was in Georgia.  Just to avoid any wise cracks from the commenters.  Nipping it in the bud. Ha!

Day 46 – 94.5 miles

Total 3,613.2 miles

The videos are on my Facebook page at

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1226770797335582&id=100000080201650

