Ok, first of all I have to give credit where credit is due.  Audrey gave me the title for today’s blog post.  I did not take any pictures today, but the one below.  I just enjoyed the ride.  Yesterday, I made the usual pit stop.  As I stood there drinking my Gatorade I noticed something bad, very bad.  I was looking at my tire pump, connected to my frame, and noticed the front tip was missing.  In the picture, I am pointing to where, said tip, use to reside.  It must have loosened over time and fell off.

Of course the reason this is bad, very bad, is I now have no way of filling my tube if I have a flat.  Mind you I am in Eastern Kentucky and Southwestern Virginia in the Appalachians.  No bike shops, no Wal-marts (at least that I can easily get to).  I woke up this morning with a sense of dread.  I knew that if I had a flat I was in bad shape.  It bothered me all morning.  On every bump I looked down to see if my tires still had air.  I can’t go on like this, all day, it will kill me.

I began to think of alternatives.  I could ask a “local” at a gas station if they have a pump at home and I would be willing to buy it from them.  I could check the Dollar General, they are about in every city I have gone through.  It’s a long shot but maybe?  How about an auto parts store?  I have not seen anyone riding a bicycle, other than TATers, since geez maybe Newton?  To think an auto parts store would have one was a pipe dream, at least in my opinion. I stopped in Haysi to get breakfast.  On my way out I saw a Dollar General.  Shocking (sarcasm)! But, right next to it I saw an auto parts store and they were open this early in the morning.  I went in and told the guys my dilemma.  The one clerk took me over to a aisle and grabbed a pump.  My jaw about hit the floor.  What are the chances the first auto parts store, in Haysi Virginia population 186, would have a pump?  I guess pretty damn good!

This was too good to be true.  I asked the clerk if I could take it outside and test it.  I had a spare tube and I put my presta to schrader valve adapter on and started to pump.  It works!  You do not know the relief I felt that the pump works.  As you can see in the picture, it is 3 times as big and weighs 1-2 pounds. I would carry a boat anchor if I knew I could fill a bike tube with it.  So, I am pumped!

I am staying under a church pavilion in Meadowview, VA

Day 48 – 64.2 miles

Total 3,765.7 miles

